About selfm.aid

«selfm.aid» is a grassroots non-profit organisation, founded in September 2020, registered in Switzerland and Greece. It aims to fight humanitarian crises and social grievances by encouraging those affected to produce relief goods independently and from local resources. Therefore, the NGO combines social work with handicraft.

What's behind it?

We are currently facing a multitude of complex challenges. The refugee crisis and climate change are only parts of it. As the main cause, we identify the limitless consumption, along with the destruction of nature and the exploitation of labor. The world is out of balance.
During the last decades, the production of essential goods has been gradually outsourced - far away from our consciousness. As consumers, we no longer have the opportunity to be connected to the people who work for us and to the natural resources that are used. As a consequence, these products and the professions behind them have increasingly lost their value and recognition in our society. Much of the traditional knowledge of how and from what one can produce oneself has been lost.

Time to rethink

We believe it is time to fundamentally rethink. That we have to remember the ways of life from the past in order to develop innovative solutions for the future. That we have to be able again to know ourselves, to act ourselves and to produce ourselves, regardless of large industries.

Our solution:

The association «selfm.aid» combines social work and handicraft: wherever people suffer from existential hardship and basic needs can no longer be met, we encourage those affected to help themselves by producing the necessary aid goods independently and from local resources. This is how we break the vicious cycle of dependency.
The manual activity enables encounters and connects people with one another and their immediate surroundings. And this is so important, because only as a strong, local community will we be able to master the great global challenges of the present and especially of the future.

Our vision is to assist in creating a strong local community which is able to fight humanitarian crisis and social grievances independently through the use of existing local, human and natural resources.

VISION

MISSION

WE FACILITATE

With our projects, we provide attractive workplaces where interested parties from the entire community can freely unfold develop their manual skills.

WE EMPOWER

We encourage and support our participants in taking responsibility for the workshops and improving living conditions on their own.

WE PRODUCE

We produce and repair the most important products for everyday basic needs independently and from natural raw materials from the region.

WE CONNECT

The common interest in craft activities enables people to meet at eye level. People from the most diverse cultures and situations in life work equally on solving existing problems.

VALUES

Respect for people and the environment

Is at the heart of everything we do.

Resource-oriented

We recognize and promote the potential of every person.

Participatory

Our programs and products are de-termined, developed and evaluated by the participants.

Local and seasonal

We use products and natural resources from our direct surrounding.

Creative and innovative

Because this is the only way to break through previous patterns and develop new solutions.

Die Hände in den Boden

Über selfm.aid

«selfm.aid» ist ein Nonprofit-Verein, gegründet im September 2020, registriert in der Schweiz und in Griechenland. Er bezweckt die Bekämpfung von humanitären Krisen und sozialen Missständen durch die Bestärkung betroffener Personen, Hilfsgüter selbstständig und aus lokalen Ressourcen herzustellen. Dazu kombiniert der Verein Soziale Arbeit mit Handwerk.

Was steckt dahinter?

Wir sind aktuell mit einer Vielzahl von komplexen Herausforderungen konfrontiert. Flüchtlingskrise und Klimawandel sind nur Ausschnitte davon. Als Hauptursache identifizieren wir den grenzenlosen Konsum, einhergehend mit der Zerstörung der Natur und der Ausbeutung von Arbeitskraft. Die Welt ist aus dem Gleichgewicht. 

Während den letzten Jahrzehnten wurde die Produktion lebensnotwendiger Güter sukzessive ausgelagert - weit weg von unserem Bewusstsein. Als Konsument*innen haben wir gar nicht mehr die Möglichkeit im Bezug zu sein, zu den Menschen, die für uns arbeiten und den natürlichen Ressourcen, die verwendet werden. Als Konsequenz haben diese Produkte und die Berufsgattungen, die dahinterstehen, in unserer Gesellschaft zunehmend an Wert und Anerkennung verloren. Viel von dem traditionellen Wissen, wie und woraus man selbst produzieren kann, ist verloren gegangen.

Zeit umzudenken

Wir sind der Überzeugung, dass es Zeit ist grundlegend umzudenken. Dass wir uns an die Lebensformen von früher zurück erinnern müssen, um innovative Lösungen für die Zukunft zu entwickeln. Dass wir wieder in der Lage sein müssen, selbst zu wissen, selbst zu handeln und selbst zu produzieren, unabhängig von grossen Industrien.

Unsere Lösung:

Der Verein «selfm.aid» setzt auf die Kombination von Sozialer Arbeit und Handwerk: Überall dort, wo Menschen unter existenziellen Nöten leiden und Grundbedürfnisse nicht mehr gedeckt werden können, bestärken wir Betroffene, sich dank der Nutzung und Verarbeitung lokaler Ressourcen selbst zu helfen und den Teufelskreis der Abhängigkeit zu durchbrechen.

Die handwerkliche Tätigkeit bringt die Menschen untereinander und ihre unmittelbare Umgebung wieder in Verbindung zueinander. Denn nur als starke, lokale Gemeinschaft, werden wir in der Lage sein, die grossen globalen Herausforderungen der Gegenwart und insbesondere der Zukunft zu meistern.

DSC06124.jpg

Unsere Vision ist eine starke Gemeinschaft, die dank der Nutzung der vorhandenen personellen und natürlichen, lokalen Ressourcen in der Lage ist, gesellschaftliche Probleme selbstständig zu bewältigen.

VISION

MISSION

icon factory.webp
icon empower.webp
icon produce.png
icon connect.png

WE FACILITATE

Mit unseren Projekten stellen wir attraktive Arbeitsorte zur Verfügung, an denen Interessierte aus der ganzen Community ihre handwerklichen Fähigkeiten frei entfalten können.

WE EMPOWER

Wir fördern und unterstützen unsere Teilnehmenden dabei, Verantwortung für die Werkstätten zu übernehmen und die Lebensbedingungen aus eigener Kraft zu verbessern.

WE PRODUCE

Wir produzieren und reparieren die wichtigsten Produkte für den alltäglichen Grundbedarf selbstständig und aus natürlichen Rohstoffen der Region.

WE CONNECT

Das gemeinsame Interesse an handwerklichen Tätigkeiten ermöglicht Begegnungen auf Augenhöhe. Menschen aus den unterschiedlichsten Kulturen und Lebenslagen arbeiten gleichermassen an der Lösung vorhandener Probleme.

WERTE

Respekt vor Mensch und Umwelt

Steht im Zentrum unserer Arbeit.

Ressourcen-orientiert

Wir erkennen und fördern das Potential eines jeden Menschen.

Partizipativ

Unsere Programme werden von den Teilnehmenden bestimmt, entwickelt und evaluiert.

Lokal und Saisonal

Wir beziehen unsere Ressourcen aus der unmittelbaren Umgebung.

Kreativ und Innovativ

Denn nur so, lassen sich bisherige Muster durchbrechen und neue Lösungen erarbeiten.